She Who Laughs, Lasts!

 

She who laughs lasts

 

“A merry heart does good, like medicine…”(Proverbs 17:22a)

“Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing.  Then they said among the nations, ‘The LORD has done great things for them.’ “(Psalm 126:2)

Sometimes life can bring us down and we forget to look up.  I believe God created laughter to help us look up and remember where our strength comes from.  “She Who Laughs, Lasts!” is a compilation of stories from some of the women who speak at the Women of Faith conferences.  The stories are heartwarming and encouraging.  Some will make you smile and some will make you laugh out loud.

The following is an excerpt from Luci Swindoll, entitled “Just Call Me Luci”.

“One morning I sat at the counter of a Big Boy restaurant not five minutes from my home.  Newspaper in hand, I took the only seat left, next to a young man who was about halfway through his meal.  We said nothing.  After ordering, I opened the paper to scan the front page when I noticed out of the corner of my eye that he kept looking in my direction as if eager to talk, occasionally drumming his fingers on the counter.  Finally, while still seated, he took money from his pocket to pay for his meal and, looking straight at me, blurted:  “My wife just had a baby.”

“Oh…how exciting.  A boy or a girl?”

“A little girl.”

“That’s great.  How can you just sit there so calmly?  Why aren’t you running up and down the street passing out cigars or something?”

“Well,”  he said, smilingly, “this isn’t my first.  She’s our third girl.  We have three girls now.”

“And I guess you wanted a boy, huh?”

“Oh, well , yes.  But, you know–I’m glad she’s here and healthy, and that’s what’s important.”

“That’s right.”

“The only problem is that we can’t agree on a name for her.  My wife wants to name her Lucy, but I don’t know.  I don’t much like the name ‘Lucy.'”

“Oh really?  Why?  I think it’s a nice name.”

“It sounds average…and, every Lucy I’ve ever known was big and fat.  I guess I think when she grows up she’ll be fat.”

“Not necessarily.”

“You know what I mean, you just have this preconceived notion.  What do you think is a good name for a girl?  What’s your name?”

“Luci.”

“Oh gosh, I’m sorry,”  he said, turning red and trying to smile.  “Uh…can I buy you a cup of coffee?”

“How ’bout a hot fudge sundae?”

When we can laugh at ourselves, it changes our outlook on life.  “She Who Laughs, Lasts!” will be available in the library in February.  Enjoy!

 

While we encourage and welcome your comments on our blog, we ask you to be courteous and respectful. All comments will be responded to, but please be patient and wait to see replies. You are responsible for what you post. Specifics such as offensive language, profanity, spam or spam links, comments that attack or demean others; all could be addressed directly. Comments that require a long post may be used as a blog post instead.

